Université de Kinshasa

The University of Kinshasa (commonly known as UNIKIN) is a Francophone institution of university higher education located in the city of Kinshasa in the Democratic Republic of Congo . Founded in 1954, it was succeeded by Lovanium University .

It is located in the district of Mont-Amba on the present commune of Lemba , and enrolls more than 26,000 students in 2010.

Elements of History

The University of Kinshasa was created in the time of the Belgian Congo by the Catholic university of Louvain in 1954 as a Catholic university under the name of Lovanium University , Lovanium being the ancient ( Latin ) name of Leuven . On 15 January 1954 the first pre-university course was opened under the rectorate of the Jesuit Father Maurice Schurmans (1901-1970). Of the thirty registered students, eleven begin the first academic year which opens ten months later, on October 12, 1954, in buildings still unfinished.

In August 1971, the university was merged with the Free University of Congo (Protestant) and the University of the Congo in Lubumbashi (founded in 1956) at the National University of Zaire (UNAZA). Between 1991 and 1980, universities were again split into three institutions: the University of Kinshasa, the University of Kisangani and the University of Lubumbashi . By Order-Law No. 81-142 of October 3, 1981 , the University of Kinshasa is nationalized and has since retained its denomination.

The University Today


The university consists of twelve faculties include: Law , Humanities and Social Sciences , Economics and Management, Social Sciences Political and Administrative, Sciences , Pharmacy , Medicine , Psychology and the Science Education , Agronomy , Veterinary Medicine , Oil & Gas and polytechnics .


  • Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences (Departments of Psychology, Educational Sciences, Business Management and Work Organization and Aggregation)
  • Faculty of Economics and Management in this Faculty (Department of Economics, Management)
  • Faculty of Political and Administrative Social Sciences (Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Political and Administrative Sciences and International Relations).
  • Faculty of Agricultural Sciences (department of phthotechnology, zootechnics, agricultural economics, chemistry and agricultural industry, natural resource management (options: water and forests , flora and fauna , soil and water) and so as to develop ecosystems in the LMD system] ).
  • Faculty of Science (Department of Biology, Mathematics, Physics, Computer Mathematics, Geosciences (Geology and Geography).
  • Faculty of Law (Department of Public Law, Department of Private Law, Department of Economic and Social Law).
  • Faculty of Arts and Humanities (Department of Philosophy)
  • Polytechnic Faculty (Department of engineering electrical, mechanical, civil engineering ).
  • Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences (department of science base, department pharmacology and therapeutics , department of medicinal chemistry and pharmacognosy, galenic department analysis of drugs , department of pharmaceutical and food bio sciences) and professional options ( industry and analysis of drugs , hospital and community pharmacy, medical biology).

Decentralized entities and schools 

In addition to these twelve faculties, there are also six decentralized entities dependent on Unikin including: University Clinics,

the Center Neuro-psycho-pathologique, the Mont-Amba Hospital Center, Mont-Amba School Group, the Institut Technique Médicale, the Régie de construction and the Postgraduate Regional School for the Management and Integrated Management of Forests and tropical territories.

Unikin also has two schools, including the School of Public Health and the Postgraduate Regional School of Management and Integrated Management of Forests and Tropical Territories (ERAIFT)

Academic profile

The University of Kinshasa is currently the largest university in the DRC and a major source where other institutions draw professors. It has a faculty comprising 740 professors with PhDs, a scientific body comprising 1,308 Heads of Works and Assistants.

More than 26,000 students are enrolled, mostly undergraduate. A majority that is eager to enroll in university. The Faculty of Medicine welcomes several thousand students, and it is frequent that courses are given in amphitheater or promotion room gathering more than a thousand students.

In the field of research , quality scientific publications are produced. The University of Kinshasa has research units that include researchers, which in turn are grouped together for the most part in research institutes (eg IRES Institute for Research in Economics and Social Sciences). The awards of excellence reward the efforts and performances of the best students and create emulation.


The University of Kinshasa has a central library . The central library is open to everyone, rich in encyclopaedias and the richest, in terms of books, the whole republic [ref. required] .

In addition to the central library, which is spread over two floors, the university has a specialist library in each faculty, that is, it deals only with the subject matter of the faculty. and also a reading room and library of the Catholic Church Our Lady of Wisdom (nodasa), which also facilitates students to document themselves for their academic and other research.

Student Life

The University of Kinshasa has a very rich associative life: with a large number of organizations, be they economic, humanitarian or community associations, or corporations or “clubs”. Of all these organizations, it is the cultural circles animated by students themselves that stand out and move the University. Circles that can be important for their training, because they stimulate the students’ research spirit, promote scientific literacy and analyze the different aspects of the problems affecting the world and the DRC in particular.

But this atmosphere is destroyed, every beginning of the academic year, by practices called “blues” which turn into a kind of hazing – practices prohibited by the university – and an asthenia affecting some students. For some time, this practice has been disappearing.

For the student representation, each faculty has a student representation and, for the most part, student organizations responsible for animating student life; elected by the students (the rate of participation in the elections is not regularly high). Its role is to mediate between the hierarchy of the university and the students.



The university is governed by a Management Committee composed of four members: the Rector , the Academic Secretary-General, the Administrative Secretary-General and the Budget Administrator.

Organization of studies

The university is divided into faculties , which possess different degrees of independence. Each faculty consists of departments and research centers.

It organizes lessons of st , e and e  cycle in all faculties.

Leave a Reply

Name *
Email *